Skip to content

BHP today confirmed identification of a potential new iron oxide, copper, gold (IOCG) mineralised system, located 65 kilometres to the south east of BHP’s operations at Olympic Dam in South Australia.

As part of BHP’s ongoing copper exploration program, four diamond drill holes, totalling 5346 metres, intersected copper, gold, uranium and silver mineralisation of IOCG style on BHP’s exploration licence 5941.

Laboratory assay results show downhole mineralisation intercepts ranging from 0.5 per cent to six per cent copper with associated gold, uranium and silver metals. The results are shown in the table below.

This exploration project is at an early stage and there is currently insufficient geological information to assess the size, quality and continuity of the mineralised intersections. BHP is evaluating and interpreting the results reported and planning a further drilling program, to commence in early 2019.

BHP’s copper exploration program has targeted the Stuart Shelf in South Australia as part of a focused global program which includes Ecuador, Canada, Peru, Chile and the south west of the United States.

Copper and oil are the main focus of BHP’s exploration programs in order to replenish our resource base and enhance our portfolio.

Hole ID From To Length1 m  Cu % AU g/t U ppm Ag g/t
AD-22 936 1060.5 124.5 0.52 0.48 85 3.37
AD-23 1063 1488.7 425.7 3.04 0.59 346 6.03
AD-23 inc. 1070 1250 180 6.07 0.92 401 12.77
AD-24 848 1254 406 0.66 0.35 266 2.09
AD-25 1193 1270 77 2.11 0.54 327 2.94

1 Not true widths

Appendix 1 (PDF 384 kb) contains further information in relation to this exploration project.

Subscribe to news alerts

No keyword(s) entered

Please ensure you enter a keyword and try searching again

Invalid email

Sorry, we are unable to subscribe you. Please ensure you have entered a valid email address and try again.

Subscription received

Thank you for subscribing to BHP Billiton news alerts. Please check your email for confirmation of your subscription.

Subscription confirmed

You have already signed up to our newsletter.

Loading the player...

林芝县| 鹤山市| 娱乐| 庄浪县| 五寨县| 江安县| 临猗县| 霍林郭勒市| 平阳县| 江都市| 屏边| 西充县| 鹤山市| 沾化县| 光山县| 临安市| 平罗县| 新沂市| 英德市| 彰化市| 天等县| 墨脱县| 乌审旗| 灵山县| 沽源县| 衡水市| 五大连池市| 集安市| 石狮市| 射阳县| 静海县| 和田市| 景洪市| 宜黄县| 苗栗县| 綦江县| 拜泉县|