Skip to content

BHP has announced a change to its procurement policies, extending preferred payment terms of 30 days to all Australian businesses in local areas. This change means nearly 300 local businesses in New South Wales will experience preferred payment terms from December 1.

NSW Energy Coal, Asset President Elsabe Muller said the decision was made following a period of engagement with suppliers, host communities and the Federal Government.

“We’ve heard concerns about the impact of our standard global payment terms on local businesses, and recognise there is more we can do to support our local communities.

We will extend our preferential terms further than the existing small and local businesses already captured.” she said.

All of BHP’s suppliers with a primary operating presence in Newcastle, Maitland, Muswellbrook, Singleton, Denman and Scone - regardless of size - will be placed on 30 day payment terms.

Businesses won’t need to apply for the new payment terms, and will be automatically moved to 30 days on 1 December.

BHP Vice President Supply Sundeep Singh says the change will be a huge win in New South Wales.

“As well as being a major employer in regional communities, we are also a major contributor to local economies - through the jobs we provide, and the goods and services we purchase.” said Mr. Singh.

We value the communities we operate in, and want our local suppliers to grow strong businesses as we grow ours.” Ms Muller added.

BHP’s total direct economic contribution in Australia, including its payments to suppliers, wages and employee benefits, dividends, taxes and royalties in the last financial year was US$19.6 billion.

However Ms Muller says BHP’s success nationally and internationally is built on strong local relationships.

“We understand that the strength and capability of communities that are local to us are critical to the strength and capability of our business as a whole.”

Subscribe to news alerts

No keyword(s) entered

Please ensure you enter a keyword and try searching again

Invalid email

Sorry, we are unable to subscribe you. Please ensure you have entered a valid email address and try again.

Subscription received

Thank you for subscribing to BHP Billiton news alerts. Please check your email for confirmation of your subscription.

Subscription confirmed

You have already signed up to our newsletter.

Loading the player...

新营市| 称多县| 威海市| 宁阳县| 临沂市| 尼玛县| 嵊州市| 临颍县| 惠东县| 靖远县| 正蓝旗| 龙井市| 和平县| 区。| 澄江县| 古浪县| 黑河市| 砚山县| 平舆县| 安西县| 光山县| 石屏县| 元江| 改则县| 西乌珠穆沁旗| 博罗县| 永康市| 秭归县| 阳谷县| 保康县| 凌云县| 盘山县| 贡山| 田阳县| 都兰县| 金秀| 友谊县|